America Boxed Set Due For Release 24th May The Capitol Years Containing Six Albums

6 May 2019 Music News Recommends



AmericaThe Capitol Years

 A Fully Remastered Six-Album CD Boxset
Released 24th May

America ‘The Capitol Years’ is a six-CD box set released through Caroline International that features the band’s entire Capitol Record output (1979 – 1985) together for the first time. Housed in a clamshell box, it features the newly re-mastered albums (by Andy Pearce) as well as an enhanced booklet with comments from the band on the making and impact of the albums.

Released on 24 May, the set contains ‘Silent Letter’ (1979),  ‘Alibi’ (1980), ‘View from The Ground’ (1982), ‘Your Move’ (1983), ‘Perspective’ (1984) and ‘In Concert’ (1985).

America formed in London in 1970 by Gerry Beckley, Dewey Bunnell and Dan Peek. The trio met as sons of US Air Force personnel stationed in London, where they began performing live.

Achieving significant popularity in the 1970s, the trio was famous for their close vocal harmonies and light acoustic folk-rock sound. The band came together shortly after Bunnell, Peek and Beckley’s graduation from high school and a record deal with Warner Bros Records soon followed. Their debut 1971 album, ’America’, included the transatlantic hits ‘A Horse with No Name’ and ‘I Need You’.

America’s first studio album without Peek (who amicably left the band in 1977 having renewed his Christian faith and was moving in a different artistic direction from Beckley or Bunnell) was ’Silent Letter’. Produced by George Martin in Montserrat, the group began to use songs from other songwriters as they sought to increase their commercial success. This newly remastered version of the album comes with two bonus mono edits of ‘Only Game in Town’ and ‘All Around’.

America continued to evolve as the 1980s began. For their next album, ’Alibi’, released in August 1980, Beckley and Bunnell sought fresh personnel in the form of producers Matthew McCauley and Fred Mollin; they also employed session players from the West Coast, to craft a new sound. This newly remastered version of the album comes with two bonus mono edits of ‘You Could’ve Been the One’ and ‘Hangover’.

 View from the Ground’, released in July 1982, saw the group finally score another commercial success, featuring a number of songs produced by the duo themselves. As with ’Alibi’, Beckley and Bunnell brought in a number of high-profile musicians, but it was former Argent guitarist Russ Ballard who had the greatest effect on the group’s fortunes.

Ballard produced and played all of the instruments and sang most of the background vocals on a song he crafted especially for the band, called ‘You Can Do Magic’. They found success with the addition of Ballard, so they asked him to produce their next album, ’Your Move’, in its entirety. In the end, Ballard wrote most of the songs and performed most of the instruments in addition to his production duties.

For their fifth album with Capitol,‘Perspective’, their sound moved on to feature more synthesizers and drum machines. Ballard was not asked to produce the record and several others, including Richie Zito, Matthew McCauley, and Richard James Burgess, helped create an electronic style.
In Concert’ was the final album the band released with Capitol Records. Recorded at the Arlington Theater in Santa Barbara, CA, it was the band’s second official live release and their very first on CD format.

The boxset is available on pre-order at


The full tracklisting is below.

DISC ONE – Silent Letter

Only Game in Town

All Around

Tall Treasures


And Forever


All Night

No Fortune

All My Life

One Morning

High in The City


Only Game in Town – Mono Edit

All Around – Mono Edit


DISC TWO – Alibi


Might Be Your Love

Catch That Train

You Could’ve Been the One

I Don’t Believe in Miracles

I Do Believe in You


Right Back to Me



One in A Million


You Could’ve Been the One – Mono Edit

Hangover – Mono Edit


DISC THREE – View from The Ground

You Can Do Magic

Never Be Lonely

You Girl

Inspector Mills

Love on The Vine

Desperate Love

Right Before Your Eyes


Sometimes Lovers

Even the Score

DISC FOUR – Your Move

My Kinda Woman

She’s A Runaway

Cast the Spirit

Love’s Worn Out Again

The Border

Your Move


My Dear

Tonight, Is for Dreamers

Don’t Let Me Be Lonely

Someday Woman


DISC FIVE – Perspective

We Got All Night

See How the Love Goes

Can’t Fall Asleep to A Lullaby

Special Girl

5th Avenue

(It’s Like You) Never Left at All


Lady with A Bluebird


Unconditional Love

Fallin’ Off the World


DISC SIX – In Concert

Tin Man

I Need You

The Border

Sister Golden Hair


You Can Do Magic

Ventura Highway

Daisy Jane

Horse with No Name




Iconic multi-platinum-selling group AMERICA has influenced generations of musicians with their distinctive brand of acoustic-driven, harmony-rich rock, mixed with pop smarts, in soul-searching classic songs that reflected the times they were living in.  The band’s huge radio success throughout the ‘70s and early ‘80s at times overshadowed the lyrical depth of their songs such as the questing “Horse With No Name” (with its environmental message at the end); the frank romantic politics of “Sister Golden Hair”; the war paranoia of “Sandman” (written in part from conversations with returning airmen from Vietnam); and the cautionary life advice of “Don’t Cross The River.” As further testament to the band’s staying power and influence, AMERICA’s recordings have been licensed for a multitude of placements in films (including American Hustle, The Nice Guys, The Last Unicorn, and Girl Most Likely), television shows (among them The Sopranos, Friends, Breaking Bad and Saturday Night Live) and video games (including Grand Theft Auto). See their Soundtrack credits on IMDB here: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2085638/