Freddie Mercury Never Boring Box Set Released 11th October

6 September 2019 Music News Recommends


Never Boring Box Set
Freddie Mercury

Released 11th October

“You can do anything with my work,

but never make me boring.”
Freddie Mercury

The “Never Boring” box set brings together for the first time a specially-curated selection of Freddie Mercury’s music, visuals and written and spoken words. The set reminds us that Freddie was an exceptional singer, songwriter, performer and human being whose special kind of magic is captured in this exceptional collection of his solo work.

The package is meticulously compiled and produced by Queen’s longtime sound team Justin Shirley-Smith, Kris Fredriksson and Joshua J Macrae who also co-produced the Bohemian Rhapsody film official soundtrack album.

Taken from the very best original source material available, the full “Never Boring” collection contains three CDs with 32 tracks; a Blu-ray and DVD featuring 13 promo videos and interview; a 120-page 10”x10” hardback book full photos, many of them rare and unpublished, as well as thoughts and choice quotes from Freddie himself, and an introduction from Rami Malek, who earned an Oscar for his portrayal of Freddie in Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation’s “Bohemian Rhapsody”. Specially created insert packaging includes a double-sided poster containing an image of Freddie and an original work from synesthetic artist Jack Coulter inspired by the song “Mr Bad Guy”.

The three CDs include a new 12-track compilation of many of Freddie’s greatest solo performances; a newly mixed 11-track special edition of “Mr Bad Guy”; and the nine-track 2012 special edition of “Barcelona” featuring full orchestra. The Blu-ray and DVD of Freddie’s promos and his stage performances with Montserrat Caballé include eight that have been painstakingly reassembled from the original 35mm film rushes to give them the best-ever visual and sound quality.

1 The Great Pretender
2 I Was Born To Love You
3 Barcelona
4 In My Defence
5 Love Kills
6 How Can I Go On (Single Version)
7 Man Made Paradise
8 Living On My Own (Radio Mix)
9 The Golden Boy (Single Edit)
10 Time Waits For No One
11 She Blows Hot And Cold
12 Made In Heaven

1 Let’s Turn It On
2 Made In Heaven
3 I Was Born To Love You
4 Foolin’ Around
5 Your Kind Of Lover
6 Mr. Bad Guy
7 Man Made Paradise
8 There Must Be More To Life Than This
9 Living On My Own
10 My Love Is Dangerous
11 Love Me Like There’s No Tomorrow

1 Barcelona
2 La Japonaise
3 The Fallen Priest
4 Ensueño
5 The Golden Boy
6 Guide Me Home
7 How Can I Go On
8 Exercises In Free Love
9 Overture Piccante

1 Made In Heaven
2 The Great Pretender
3 Living On My Own
4 Barcelona
5 I Was Born To Love You
6 Time Waits For No One
7 In My Defence
8 Living On My Own (Radio Mix)
9 The Golden Boy (La Nit performance, Barcelona)
10 How Can I Go On (La Nit performance, Barcelona)
11 Barcelona (La Nit performance, Barcelona)
12 Freddie Mercury & Dave Clark “Time” Interview (Bonus Video)
13 The Great Pretender (Extended Version) (Bonus Video)
14 Barcelona (Ku Klub performance, Ibiza) (Bonus Video