1 September 2018 Music News Recommends



“Mott would swing relentlessly and unstoppably into their show every night, like a marauding band of outlaws and every night there was something close to a riot – the kids couldn’t get close enough; they simply couldn’t get enough. Ian Hunter – the unwritten boss – would plant himself centre-stage behind his shades and dare anyone to remain seated.’ “

(Brian May, Queen)


“Guy Stevens was the key figure with the band during this period.  No Guy – no Mott The Hoople – no me. It’s as simple as that.” (Ian Hunter)


November 2nd sees the release of a superb, new 6-disc boxed set encapsulating legendary English Rock-band Mott the Hoople’s recorded output for Island Records, to whom they were signed, between 1969 and 1971. Bringing together all of their albums from the period, the set also includes bonus material plus BBC sessions and live concerts. The studio albums have all been remastered from the original tapes (where available) by renowned engineer Andy Pearce and have been complemented by bonus tracks selected by Mott the Hoople expert, Kris Needs. Disc 5 comprises more unheard and, in some cases, unreleased music from the Island archive and Disc 6 rounds everything off with live material recorded at Fairfield Hall, Croydon on 13th September 1970 plus a BBC Radio One In Concert from the Paris Theatre, London on 30th December 1971. The CDs are housed in a shoe box style package with a 50-page booklet designed by Phil Smee who scoured the archives for rare photos and memorabilia, tracing the evolution of the band. It is completed with comprehensive sleeve notes by Kris Needs.

·        Disc One: Mott the Hoople plus bonus tracks

·        Disc Two: Mad Shadows plus bonus tracks

·        Disc Three: Wildlife plus bonus tracks

·        Disc Four: Brain Capers plus bonus tracks

·        Disc Five: The Ballads of Mott The Hoople

·        Disc Six: It’s Live and Live Only

Mott the Hoople was one of the most prolific and important British rock bands of the early 1970s and have been cited as a major influence by members of a raft of subsequent groups, including Queen, Def Leppard, Oasis, R.E.M., Kiss, Motley Crue and The Clash. They continue to perform, in their current line-up, with Ian Hunter at the helm.


Pre-order the boxset, available November 2ndHERE

& listen to a previously unreleased version of “Can You Sing the Song That I Sing (Full Take)” from the set







Originally released November 22 1969 – Island Records ILPS 9108

1.    You Really Got Me

2.    At the Crossroads

3.    Laugh at Me

4.    Backsliding Fearlessly

5.    Rock and Roll Queen

6.    Rabbit Foot and Toby Time

7.    Half Moon Bay

8.    Wrath and Wroll

Bonus Tracks:

9.    If Your Heart Lay with the Rebel (Would You Cheer the Underdog?) (Instrumental Take 2)

10.  Rock and Roll Queen (Single A side)

11.  Road to Birmingham (Single B side)

12.  Road to Birmingham (Guy Steven’s Mix)

13.  You Really Got Me (Complete take)

14.  You Really Got Me (Vocal mix) 

15.  Rock and Roll Queen (Guy Steven’s Mono Mix)

16.  Rock and Roll Queen (Kitchen Sink Instrumental)

17.  Little Christine (2 Miles)



Originally released September 1970 – Island Records ILPS 9119

1.    Thunderbuck Ram

2.    No Wheels to Ride

3.    You Are One of Us

4.    Walking with a Mountain

5.    I Can Feel

6.    Threads of Iron

7.    When My Mind’s Gone

Bonus Tracks

8.    Thunderbuck Ram (BBC Session)

9.    Thunderbuck Ram (Original Take with Organ)

10.  No Wheels to Ride (Demo)

11.  Moonbus (Baby’s Got a Down on Me)

12.  The Hunchback Fish (Vocal Rehearsal)

13.  You Are One of Us (Take 9)

14.  Going Home (2 Miles)

15.  Keep A-Knockin’ (Studio version)



Originally released March 1971 – Island Records ILPS 9144

1.    Whiskey Women

2.    Angel of Eighth Avenue

3.    Wrong Side of the River

4.    Waterlow

5.    Lay Down

6.    It Must Be Love

7.    The Original Mixed Up Kid

8.    Home Is Where I Want to Be

9.    Keep A-Knockin’ (Live)

Bonus Tracks

10.  Midnight Lady (Single A side)  

11.  The Debt (Single B side)

12.  Downtown (Single A side)

13.  Brain Haulage (Whiskey Woman)

14.  Growing Man Blues (Take 10)

15.  Long Red (Demo)

16.  The Ballad of Billy Joe

17.  Lay Down (Take 8)



Originally released December 1971 – Island Records – ILPS 9178

1.       Death May Be Your Santa Claus

2.      Your Own Backyard

3.       Darkness, Darkness

4.      The Journey

5.       Sweet Angeline

6.      Second Love

7.       The Moon Upstairs

8.      The Wheel of the Quivering Meat Conception

Bonus Tracks

9.      Mental Train (The Moon Upstairs)

10.   How Long? (Death May Your Santa Claus)

11.   Darkness, Darkness

12.   Your Own Backyard (Complete Take)

13.   Where Do You All Come From (Backing Track)



  1. Rachell Island   On   January 11, 2019 at 3:36 am

    I simply couldn’t leave your site prior to suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the standard information a person provide for your guests? Is going to be back incessantly to check up on new posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.