Stealers Wheel. The A&M Years Complete Albums Ste Plus Extras Released December

23 November 2017 Music News Recommends



Stealers Wheels: The A&M Years

For the first time

Stealers Wheels three albums in one set including previously unreleased live tracks

Released 1st December 2017

Stealers Wheels ‘The A&M Years’ is a box set collection of the bands three albums and will be released on 1st December through Caroline International.

 Disc one comprises of the bands self-titled debut album with the addition of three previously unreleased live tracks – ‘Please Sing A Song For Us’, ‘Steamboat Row’ and ‘I Get By’. These bonus tracks were recorded at the bands first ‘In Concert’ for Radio 1 where they supported Rab Noakes and Lindisfarne.

 Disc two is their second album ‘Ferguslie Park’ that was released in 1974 and disc three is ‘Right or Wrong’ their third and final album that was released in 1975. The set also includes a booklet that features liner notes by ‘History Of Rock’ editor Michael Heatley as well as pictures of related singles from around the globe, many of which are highly prized collector’s items

 Stealers Wheel had a short and turbulent career that lasted just three years. Founded by school friends Joe Egan and Gerry Rafferty in early 1972, in that same year they formed a band, were signed to A&M Records, recorded and released their self-titled debut album. By the time the band had released this record, Rafferty had left (and was replaced by Luther James Grosvenor for the tour) and the band of Roger Brown, Rab Noakes, and Ian Campbell had been replaced with Paul Pilnick, Tony Williams, and Rod Coombes.

 ‘Stuck In The Middle With You’ saw the band receive global acclaim selling over one million copies and earning themselves plaudits and fans around the world. Following this success (1973), Rafferty was persuaded to return and from that point, they officially became a duo.

 The group’s second album, ‘Ferguslie Park’, was released in 1974 with the duo backed up by nine backing musicians. The album, named after an area of Paisley (where they were from) was met with critical acclaim, but tensions between the duo and become too much and by the time they released ‘Right Or Wrong’ in 1975 the band had disbanded.


Track listing:

Disc One – Stealers Wheel

1. Late Again

2. Stuck In The Middle With You

3. Another Meaning

4. I Get By

5. Outside Looking In

6. Johnny’s Song

7. Next To Me

8. Jose

9. Gets So Lonely

10. You Put Something Better Inside Me


LIVE AT THE BBC (December 1971)

11. Please Sing A Song For Us

12. Steamboat Row

13. I Get By

Disc Two – Ferguslie Park

1. Good Businessman

2. Star

3. Wheelin’

4. Waltz (You Know It Makes Sense!)

5. What More Could You Want

6. Over My Head

7. Blind Faith

8. Nothing’s Gonna Change My Mind

9. Steamboat Row

10. Back On My Feet Again

11. Who Cares

12. Everything Will Turn Out Fine

Disc Three – Right Or Wrong

1. Benediction

2. Found My Way To You

3. This Morning

4. Let Yourself Go

5. Home From Home

6. Go As You Please

7. Wishbone

8. Don’t Get Me Wrong

9. Monday Morning

10. Right Or Wrong

, ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.